Book Reviews

Book Review – Lizzie Chantree, The Little Ice Cream Shop by the Sea

I’m thrilled to be part of Lizzie Chantree‘s book tour for her brand new book, The Little Ice Cream Shop by the Sea, which launches on the 19th February – and is on a special introductory offer of 99p (or 99c) until 26th February (2021).

Lizzie was kind enough to share insights into the characters and the plot of her latest novel with us at dgtlwriter.

How do you select the names of your characters?

When the story begins to form in my mind, my characters have often already got names and they tell me them! I outline my books and write chapter guides, but I’m not a plotter. I tend to have notes and then go with the flow as the story unfolds. I know where it’s headed, but the characters often throw me a few curve balls along the way, which I find exciting, as I feel like I’m reading the story as I write it. If I have too many characters with the same first letter in their name, I might swap one, but this doesn’t happen very often. The one thing I do, is to write detailed character lists. I add details as I learn them about the character, but also have a firm idea of their personality and background before I put pen to paper. I often write the first 20k words of my book in longhand. 

Tell us the basic premise of your novel.

The little ice cream shop by the sea is about a close family who run a seaside business buried in tradition, but a sudden incident throws them into turmoil and they all try to cope with the repercussions in their own way. The main character, Genie, doesn’t know why her family suddenly decides to sell the family business that she’s worked in since before she left school, but she’s determined that they won’t throw away her heritage so easily and fights to make them stay. 

The friendship between genie and pensioner Ada, who starts as a customer, becomes a lifeline for both women. Throw in some dashing locals who set their heart on helping Genie and a furious grandson who is out to protect his grandmother, and you have a sizzling story full of sunshine, secrets and finding love when you least expect it.

About the book:
An English romance, full of humour, family life and second chances at love.
Genie’s seafront business had been in her family for generations, but suddenly her parents announced that they were moving to Cornwall and leaving her and the business behind.


Genie’s mum Milly thought she had erased her past, but the only option left to her now was to sell up and hide.

Celebrity chef, Cal, flew in from America to protect his famous gran and the little seaside restaurant she’d decided to invest in, but faced with the fiery part owner, Genie, his whole life was suddenly turned upside down.

Head to your nearest ebook shop to treat yourself to The Little Ice Cream Shop by the Sea today.

Who is Lizzie Chantree?

International bestselling author Lizzie Chantree, started her own business
at the age of 18 and became one of Fair Play London and The Patent
Office’s British Female Inventors of the Year. She writes books full of
friendship and laughter, about women with unusual businesses, who are
stronger than they realise.

Where can I find more information about Lizzie and buy her books?

Universal book buy link for The little ice cream shop: viewbook.at/IceCreamShopByTheSea

Universal book buy link: Networking for writers: viewbook.at/NetworkingForWriters

Lizzie can be found across social media, and definitely at your favourite hangout.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Lizzie_Chantree

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LizzieChantree/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7391757.Lizzie_Chantree

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lizzie_chantree/

Book Review – Jenny Hale, The Memory Keeper

I was fortunate enough to receive an advanced copy of The Memory Keeper, by the veritable queen of gorgeous small-town romances, Jenny Hale, and it is an absolute must-read.

From the first chapter I was hooked on this road-trip of a romance novel. Hannah’s life has just been upended in New York – instead of flying out to Barbados with the man she loves, she has to battle bad weather and a car-share to drive to the sickbed of her much-loved grandmother in Franklin, Tennessee.

A romance set in Tennessee? Of course I had to keep reading.

The Memory Keeper is heart-warming, providing relatable and engaging characters to disappear with, from a new best friend, to a lost childhood sweetheart, a loving family and a man who is hiding more than Hannah feels comfortable with.

The real star of the show has to be the grandmother’s florist shop, however, which made me fall in love with this romance novel all over again, thanks to the heart of this community.

The Memory Keeper is the perfect uplifting read from USA Today bestselling author Jenny Hale. Published by Harpeth Road Press, this must-read is out now at all the best retailers.

Treat yourself and your best friend to The Memory Keeper today.

The Memory Keeper, Jenny Hale

“A heartwarming, emotional book.” —New York Times Bestselling Author, RaeAnne Thayne

From the USA Today bestselling author of The Summer House comes a story about finding lost loves, chasing dreams, and the people who show up when they’re needed the most.The Memory Keeper is the perfect escape for fans of Susan Mallery, Debbie Macomber, and Sheila Roberts.

Hannah Townsend’s life is just as she’s always wanted it to be. She has the perfect job at a New York magazine, a small but elegant apartment in the upper west side, and an incredibly successful beau named Miles Monahan. This year, for her thirty-fifth birthday, she’s leaving the icy city sludge for sunshine! She’s got tickets for two to Barbados, and she’s all packed and meeting Miles at the airport for a week of cocktails, sandy beaches, and the music of steel drums.

But her life is turned upside down in the span of that one morning. Hannah is rocked by the news that her beloved grandmother is very sick, and Hannah needs to come home to her small Tennessee town right away to be with her family and help run her gran’s dilapidated flower shop. It also means she has to face Ethan Wright, the best friend she’d left behind so many years ago. If that isn’t enough to deal with, she discovers her boyfriend is seeing someone else.

With flights grounded and rental cars in great demand due to the winter snowstorm, she’s stranded at the airport. On her birthday, instead of waking up in a stylish beachfront hotel in Miles’s arms like she thought, she finds herself packed like sardines into a car, with two passengers, on a ride-share from LaGuardia Airport to her hometown of Franklin, Tennessee.

When everything seems to be going wrong, it’s the kindness of a handsome businessman from Hannah’s past named Liam McGuire that might just save her. But a new development that threatens Gran’s shop and secrets surrounding Liam could alter both their lives forever.

A heartwarming, sweet romance that will have you laughing, crying, and best of all, hugging those around you a little tighter. If you loved the Christmas movies based on Jenny’s books and are looking for more feel-good, small town romance, look no further!

Jenny Hale

Jenny Hale is a USA Today, Amazon, and international bestselling author of over 15 romantic fiction titles. Her books have sold worldwide and have been adapted for television, appearing on The Hallmark Channel as part of their famous Christmas lineup. She’s been included in Oprah Magazine’s “19 Dreamy Summer Romances to Whisk You Away” and in Southern Living’s list of “30 Christmas Novels to Start Reading Now.” She is also founder and director of Harpeth Road Press. In between having her nose in a book and writing her next novel, she’s running around Nashville taking photos and getting into mischief with her hubby, two kids, and their labradoodle. Her first Harpeth Road release will be available worldwide in eBook and paperback, January 26th.

Website: www.itsjennyhale.com
Twitter: @jhaleauthor
Facebook: JennyHaleAuthor
Instagram: @jhaleauthorHarpeth Road Press: https://www.harpethroad.com/